top of page

“Watch this space” warning from TUT on title defence

Updated: Jul 27, 2023

Defending champions TUT have only one goal for the 2023 Varsity Football tournament – to lift the coveted trophy once again.

The TUT outfit and its Pretoria rivals UP-Tuks are the two most successful sides in the tournament since its inception in 2013, with each being crowned champions three times. Tuks are not competing this year.

TUT head coach Bushy Moloi is one of the longest-serving coaches in the history of Varsity Football, being at the helm for all three of their Varsity Football triumphs. Despite the Red Army not having any home games this year, they are still confident of clinching an unprecedented fourth title, says Moloi.

“The preparations are not going well due to the strike and I hope and pray to continue and do well this season. Our vibrant students, also Tshwane football lovers and supporters from our neighbours Tuks will definitely come to support us. We believe in them and they believe in us.”

Moloi was not holding back about his rejuvenated technical team.

“Watch the space. We are bringing back former TUT Varsity players to sit on the bench and other high-profile figures in South African football.”

TUT is known for producing hot football talent in the country with the most recent being Mamelodi Sundowns’ sensation Cassius Mailula. The Red Army have also seen central midfielder Thuso Mlamla and last season’s skipper Tebogo Lekaba secure a place within the Motsepe Foundation Championship side Pretoria Callies.

According to Moloi this is something well deserved.

“It means a lot to our university and all stakeholders which might also unlock the potential of getting NSL status like Tuks. It is always a good challenge to us because we are preparing our players to go out and do well in our nation.”

TUT 24-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Gomotsegang Nkuna, Luyanda Mandindi.

Defenders: Ndumiso Mdluli, Ndumiso Khubheka, Alan Moja, Fabian Nukeri, Tebogo Lekaba,

Midfielders: Thuso Mlamla, Tiego Mathebe, Anda Ihleli Yamile, Freddy Mahloana, Gift Mazibuko, Katlego Kgoete, Lindokuhle Motsamai, Tshiamo Mahome, Bongani Ngobeni, Hendrick Xaba, Neo Ramphisa, Manuele Mofokeng.

Forwards: Lungisani Nkosi, Phuko Boyce, Ronald Mabaso, Puseletso Rakobela.

TUT kick off their campaign against UFS on Thursday 27 July at Shimla Park (19:15).

by Lehlogonolo Ditshego

204 views0 comments




The latest sports updates


2023 Men's Final: UJ vs TUT

25 Jun 2024

2023 Women's Football Final: UJ vs UWC

25 Jun 2024

2023 Netball Final: Tuks vs UJ

25 Jun 2024

bottom of page