top of page

Recap of the 2023 Men’s Varsity Football season with goals and highlights!

With the 2024 edition of Varsity Football starting on 25 July we take a look back to how last year's tournament played out, which players made the biggest impression and which teams brought the heat.

The 2023 Men’s Varsity Football tournament kicked off with defending champions TUT and UFS sharing the spoils in Bloemfontein while VUT started off with a bang as they brushed aside UFH thanks to Mavuti talisman Ntokozo Mgidi’s tremendous strike that echoed his goal of the season effort the year before.

Round 2 saw the TUT red army dominate CUT as Ronaldo Mabaso bagged an incredible 4 goal haul in their 6-2 victory. The NWU Eagles looked impressive shutting out VUT 3-0 with Heaven Sereetsi banging in this goal from an impossible angle.

The UJ Orange Army finally found their form in round 3 registering their first win of the tournament against VUT as Sanele Ndlalane scored a brace including this top bins effort from his own rebound.

Drama ensued in round 4 as UWC toppled defending champs TUT while UJ claimed the top of the table spot after beating a struggling UFH. Ntokozo Mgidi continued to impress as VUT scored the fastest goal of the tournament 20 seconds after kick-off.

Rounds 5 and 6 saw UWC gain more momentum as the Cape side beat UFH 4-0 and then NWU to move up into 3rd spot on the log with Leandro De Sousa capping of this superb team effort.

With the business end of the tournament approaching it was UJ, UWC, TUT and NWU who secured playoff spots and the semi-finals did not disappoint. Both semi’s were decided on penalties which saw TUT and UJ advance to the final as Ronald Mabaso scored the goal of the tournament.

The 2023 final ended in a dramatic penalty shootout and TUT collected their 4th title after beating UJ to be crowned back to back champions.

VUT’s Ntokozo Mgidi was named as the FNB Player Of The Tournament for his outstanding performances while TUT’s Ronald Mabaso collected the Suzuki Golden Boot award for his 7 goals as the season's top scorer. Despite losing in the final, UJ’s Lona Richard Banga picked up the Cashbuild Golden Glove award for keeping 6 clean sheets.

The 2024 season kicks-off on 25 July and we can’t wait to see which team will lift the trophy this year and which players will emerge as the tournament's top stars.

105 views0 comments




The latest sports updates


2023 Men's Final: UJ vs TUT

25 Jun 2024

2023 Women's Football Final: UJ vs UWC

25 Jun 2024

2023 Netball Final: Tuks vs UJ

25 Jun 2024

bottom of page