top of page

Massive wins for Tuks and TUT, defending champs UJ also victorious in round 1

Defending champions UJ came back from 0-1 down at halftime to move past UWC in the opening round of the 2023 Women’s Varsity Football tournament at the TUT Stadium in Pretoria. There were also runaway victories for UP-Tuks over Wits and TUT over DUT. UFH and UKZN played to a goalless draw.

UJ 2 UWC 1

UJ came from 1-0 down to secure a 2-1 victory over UWC in a fiercely contested battle. This was a repeat of last year’s final when UJ beat UWC in a penalty shootout.

UWC started the match on a high note as they were in complete control of the first stanza which saw them being rewarded with a goal just nine minutes into the action. The defending champions conceded a corner from sloppy defence and Khanyisa Manengela unleashed a screamer from outside the box to give UWC the lead.

It remained a one-sided affair with UWC taking a slender 1-0 lead at the break.

UJ returned with clear instructions from the coach as they came out of the dressing room all guns blazing. Their efforts were awarded an equalizer early in the second half when Boipelo Tladinyana was fed a through-ball that sent the UWC keeper the wrong way.

Tladinyana was not done as she completed her brace in the 63rd minute. After a brilliant solo run, she beat the defender and keeper to seal a hard-fought 2-1 victory for UJ.

Scorers: UJ – Boipelo Tladinyana (2). UWC – Khanyisa Manengela.

Player of the match: Boipelo Tladinyana (UJ).

UJ: Matshidiso Masebe, Boitumelo Rasehlo, Yolanda Nduli, Kabelo Mokoena, Nokuthula Sekhukhuni, Ayesha Moosa, Shannon Macomo, Sbongakonke Mzobe, Lerato Lefa , Lusanda Mavundla, Boipelo Tladinyana.

UWC: Siphesihle Dlamini, Lonathemba Mhlongo, Zikhona Nogqala, Lindokuhle Gladile, Sinegugu Zondi, Khanyisa Manengela, Katlego Mabuza, Tiffany Kortjie, Nabeelah Galant, Thembelihle Zulu, Chelsea Daniels.


UP-Tuks put in a five-star performance with a 5-0 victory over a hapless Wits.

The game kicked off with Tuks showing great intent from the onset, combining well, and swiftly moving the ball around the park. The early efforts paid off when they were awarded a free kick just outside the Wits box, which Sinamile Mkhwanazi calmly slotted to put her side in the lead. For the rest of the half, Tuks enjoyed more touches of the ball.

Wits did however have a clear opportunity of their own, when Tuks shot stopper Slindile Duma produced a last-ditch save to deny Wits striker Lechia Olivier from levelling matters. The half-time whistle eventually sounded with Tuks enjoying a slender 1-0 lead.

When play resumed, it was Tuks who simply picked up where they left off but this time hammering a further four goals into the net. Mkhwanazi was able to get her brace in the process, while Betty Mallela unleashed a stunning strike from distance to register her goal. Wits failed to trouble the scorers. Two added Tuks goals came courtesy of S’bahle Ndlovu and Lesedi Petlane, seeing the ladies from Tshwane claiming the Gauteng bragging rights with a 5-0 drubbing of the Witsies.

Scorers: UP-Tuks – Sinamile Mkhwanazi (2), Betty Mallela, S’bahle Ndlovu, Lesedi Petlane.

Player of the match: Sinamile Mkhwanazi (UP-Tuks).

UP-Tuks: Slindile Duma, Relebogile Phala, Zikhona Mgotywa, Mmakhgotso Mashishi, Betty Mallela, Ibanathi Msindo, Morongwa Manamela, Thando Khubeka, S’bahle Ndlovu, Lesedi Petlane, Sinamile Mkhwanazi.

Wits: Ayanda Mnyembane, Bridgette Moekwa, Sakhi Mnomiya, Thalente Ntamane, Mahlauli Pitso, Lusanda Nyathi, Francesca Dobrovolsky, Lechia Oliver, Thalente Ntshiza, Magogodi Litlhakanyane, Nthabiseng Ramaisa.


TUT produced an unrelenting performance in beating DUT 4-1.

The home side were clear favourites going into the encounter having won the tournament six times before.

Christina Kutumela’s charges were the first to get on the score sheet following their good start with Asanda Msuthu giving the hosts the lead inside the first 10 minutes.

DUT remained calm under pressure which saw TUT failing to protect their lead. Too-confident defender Paballo Chela made a mistake at the back and Xolile Duma made no mistake in capitalising to make it 1-1 at the break.

Tut returned from the break in high spirits and retained their lead through Tshegofatso Motlogelwa. TUT was in full control of the match and extended their lead through Msuthu’s second who caught the DUT defence napping.

Things went from bad to worse for the Durban side as they conceded a penalty with 28 minutes left on the clock. Motlogelwa made no mistake from the spot slotting in TUT’s fourth on the night.

Scorers: TUT – Asanda Msuthu (2), Tshegofatso Mtologelwa (2). DUT – Xolile Duma.

Player of the match: Tshegofatso Motlogelwa.

TUT: Nelly Nhlapho, Glanny Mafikeng, Tsholofelo Hope Ngako, Bophelo Mmatli, Asanda Msuthu, Tshogofatso Motlogelwa, Naledi Thakanyane, Sharol Dineo Ramaoka, Tracey Sibuyi, Yolisa Ntsabo, Paballo Chela.

DUT: Sanele Mnisi, Ongeziwe Masango, Sanelisiwe Mjoka, Gugulethu Mdladla, Kholeka Siphokazi Bhengu, Zime Buthelezi, Mpelasonto Gwamanda, Xolile Duma, Nokwanda Xulu, Wandile Nature Dladla, Amanda Aliah Shelembe.


Tournament debutants UFH and UKZN played to a 0-0 draw in the opening match at the TUT Stadium.

The first half saw a cagey exchange between the two teams, with UKZN enjoying the better of the possession in the early stages. It was a tough battle throughout with both teams struggling with the slightly greasy surface. The best chance of the half fell to UFH two minutes before the break, with the attempt, unfortunately, sailing over the crossbar to see the teams settling for a 0-0 score line at the break.

The second half saw a more competitive approach from UFH, as they looked to attack the UKZN goal more. UFH got a good opportunity to go ahead with three minutes to play, through a free kick placed centrally just outside the UKZN box but the effort went wide. UKZN looked to steal all three points at the end, as they launched a few attacks from out wide but it wasn’t to be as the game ended 0-0.

Player of the match: Nosikho Magqaza (UFH).

UFH: Dinwayo Amahle, Ngenelwa Zikhona, Sonkwala Amahle, Zinyusile Bakholise, Zifune Mamela, Jaxa Sesethu, Magqaza Nosikho, Kapiyana Cwayita, Mankayi Nasiphe, Ngece Nizole, Sakela Lime.

UKZN: Sinenhlahla Mtshali, Nokukhanya Ngonyama , Sinalo Fam, ZamaShandu Dube, Gugu Mhlongo, Unathi Ntsele, Sphesihle Fihlela, Silindile Precious Ndlovu, Phumla Nkomo, Zethembiso Vilakazi, Thandeka Ntshangase.

Fixtures for the next round are HERE.

Information on tickets HERE.

251 views0 comments




The latest sports updates


2023 Men's Final: UJ vs TUT

25 Jun 2024

2023 Women's Football Final: UJ vs UWC

25 Jun 2024

2023 Netball Final: Tuks vs UJ

25 Jun 2024

bottom of page